Feb ’24: New 3 Min. Video Introducing The New Album

In this three minute video Robin gives the background of his new 2024 album, his first collection of original songs in over 20 years.

The album started life in a hotel room in New Orleans in 2019, when, at the end of his epic Chicago to New Orleans motorbike ride (see Back To The Source – music road trip documentary), Robin couldn’t sleep because of the noise of the St Charles Avenue streetcar outside. He suddenly realised that was a great opening lyric for a song and so started writing. The writing continued on the trip, on the flight home, and back in the UK, as Robin penned his thoughts about the cities he’d visited and the wider world during lockdown, recording the tunes as the world came out of its hibernation.

In this video Robin also announces the musicians that will appear on the album.

From New Orleans: Leroy Jones (trumpet), James Martin (tenor sax), Dan Ostreicher (baritone sax). From New York: Billy Kilson (drums).
From Cuba / Paris: Damian Nueva (acoustic bass).
From the UK: Claire Brock (drums), Alex Best (drums), Jihad Darwish (acoustic bass), Rob Anstey (acoustic bass), Louis Thorne (acoustic bass), Neil Cowlan (electric guitar), Stacey Dawson (alto and tenor sax), Sam Sankey (trombone), Natalie Rozario (cello), Darius Luke Thompson (violin), Hayley Pomfrett (violin), Una Palliser (viola), and the Soul Sanctuary Gospel Choir.
The first single ‘Ode To NOLA’ is released on Tuesday 20th February 2024.

by repmusic admin